The Eastern Navigation Resource

The Eastern Navigation Resource

The Eastern Navigation Resource

It has been identified in the Productivity Commission findings 2020 and the Victorian Mental Health Royal Commission report 2021 that the navigation of supports for people is a key area of need. Issues with navigation of supports are identified as common concerns in both reports and the impacts on consumers, their families and the people who support them are outlined. Online and centralised navigation portals are recommendations from both reports, in an effort to improve the providers understanding of available services when assisting people.

This navigation guide aims to bridge the gap for service providers in lieu of a suitable multi-sector online navigation platform. The guide will assist you as a service provider to understand the key entry points to a range of service sectors.

It’s divided into sector specific sections and contains information to assist staff to know the eligibility criteria, catchments, and suitable entry points. It also includes some useful links and demystifies acronyms and terms for each sector. This guide does not intend to provide a comprehensive list of services and supports, but rather key access points that will assist with service navigation. It contains a glossary of common terms and acronyms used in the various sectors covered by the guide from page 51.

This resource is current as of March 2022, and the authors take no responsibility for the ongoing accuracy of the content. Web links are provided for each service sector and should be referred to when accuracy is required.

The next update will occur this year to include Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander supports, Community legal services, and CALD and Migrant support information.

Please use the following video presentations to orient you and your staff groups to the various sectors of support outlined in the Navigation guide.

  • Family Services sector

  • Children and Young people
  • Family Violence Sector

  • Community Health Services
  • Alcohol and Other Drug Services

  • Mental Health Sector (includes the NDIS)