Mental Health Stepped Care Model

Following the Australian Government’s response to the National Mental Health Commission’s review of programs and services in 2014, PHNs across Australia are leading reform initiatives in a number of key areas including the introduction of stepped care in mental health.

Transition timelines

Within the EMPHN catchment, a phased transition to our Mental Health Stepped Care Model is planned:

• Phase 1: north east (service started 15 Jan 2018)  local government areas of Whittlesea, Nillumbik, Banyule and parts of the shires of Mitchell and Murrindindi within the EMPHN catchment. 

• Phase 2: outer east (service delivery to commence 2 Jul 2018 onwards) local government areas of Knox, Maroondah and Yarra Ranges. 

• Phase 3: inner east (service delivery to commence 14 Jan 2019 onwards) local government areas of Manningham, Boroondara, Whitehorse and Monash. 

Not sure, which phase? See our map. Still not sure, our Referral and Access Team can help t. 9800 1071.




The below videos help explain EMPHN's Mental Health Stepped Care Model.

Video 1: A guide for GPs (10 mins)

Video 2: A new way of delivering mental health services (5mins)

Educational videos:


Consultations and co-design forums with stakeholders commenced in the latter half of 2016 and early 2017 to develop EMPHN's Mental Health Stepped Care Model and low intensity services. It was clear from these consultations that the current system of care could improve to better meet the needs of the people of the region.

Engagement resources: