Dr Stephen Duckett appointed Eastern Melbourne Primary Health Network Chair

Dr Stephen Duckett appointed Eastern Melbourne Primary Health Network Chair

18 October, 2018

Dr Stephen Duckett has been appointed Chair of the Eastern Melbourne Primary Health Network (EMPHN) – the Australian Government funded PHN which works to improve the care and support people receive from health services in east and north-east Melbourne. 

Stephen Duckett is Director of the Health Program at Grattan Institute. He has a reputation for creativity, evidence-based innovation and reform in areas ranging from the introduction of activity-based funding for hospitals, to new systems of accountability for the safety of hospital care.  

An economist, he is a Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia and of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.  

Robyn Batten will be also be joining the EMPHN Board. Robyn is currently a non-executive director of Uniting Victoria and Tasmania, the Executive Chair of tech start-up Leap in! and the Vice Chair of MIM China Pty Ltd. 

Outgoing Chair Jim Swinden resigned from the Board after flagging his planned retirement earlier in the year.   

Prof Sandy Legatt chose not to stand for another term as Board Director in order to pursue other interests. 

Incoming EMPHN Chair Dr Stephen Duckett said I’m honoured to be appointed Chair of the Board of Directors and look forward to contributing to the future direction of EMPHN.  

“I’m excited to work with the Board to bring insights, strategic thinking and renewed focus on evidenced-based outcomes to EMPHN’s work,” he said. 

Outgoing EMPHN Chair Jim Swinden said EMPHN is fortunate to have attracted two new Directors of such high calibre. 

“The appointment of two new directors to the Board will bring further experience and talent to our highly qualified Board of Directors,” he said. 

“I gratefully acknowledge the work of the Board to date, thank them for their dedication to improving primary health care and health outcomes, and I wish them the very best for the future.” 

EMPHN CEO Robin Whyte thanked Jim and Sandra for their contributions to EMPHN and warmly welcomed Stephen and Robyn. 

“On behalf of the Board and Executive, I would like to thank Jim for his dedicated leadership as Chair and for Sandra’s service on EMPHN’s Board of Directors for over two years, contributing to EMPHN’s growth through its formative years,” she said. 

“I am also looking forward to working with our new Chair Stephen Duckett who will bring a wealth of experience in health policy and strategy, and incoming Board Director Robyn Batten who has extensive experience in the service delivery sector.” 

EMPHN Board: 

  • Chair Jim Swinden – outgoing 
  • Chair Dr Stephen Duckett – incoming 
  • Robyn Batten - incoming 
  • Prof. Jane Gunn 
  • Alex Johnstone 
  • Dr Leonie Katekar 
  • Elizabeth Kennedy 
  • Prof. Sandy Leggat – outgoing 
  • Tony McBride 
  • Dr Lindsay McMillan  
  • Dr Peter Trye


 Media enquiries: Claire James claire.james@emphn.org.au 0425 887 397  

Eastern Melbourne PHN is a Primary Health Network funded by the Australian Government to improve the care and support people receive from health services. We aim to improve the health of our community by ensuring people receive the right care, in the right place, at the right time. www.emphn.org.au